East Renfrewshire


Principal Town: Glasgow
Population (1991):
Area (hectares): 16802
Entry Updated: 12-SEP-2004
Local Authority Contact Information

Address: East Renfrewshire Council
Council Offices
Eastwood Park
Rouken Glen Road
G46 6UD
Bounded by the City of Glasgow and Renfrewshire to the north, North Ayrshire to the west, South Lanarkshire to the east, and East Ayrshire to the south, East Renfrewshire's main towns of Clarkston, Barrhead, Giffnock and Newton Mearns grew dramatically after World War II and all are amongst the largest 50 towns in Scotland.

There are several lochs and reservoirs in the council area including Bannan Loch and Long Loch; rivers which pass through or act as a border include White Cart Water and Earn Water. Its highest point is Corse Hill (376 m / 1234 feet).

East Renfrewshire is the sixth smallest council area in size, the ninth smallest in population, and the tenth highest in density, with 71 per cent of its land devoted to agriculture, most of which is improved grassland. About one sixth of its territory is developed, primarily for urban use.

East Renfrewshire was created in 1996 as part of the Local Government reorganisation. Its area is the same as the earlier East Renfrewshire District Council (part of the pre-1996 Strathclyde Region) which was itself created in 1975 from a part of the old Renfrewshire County.
References and Further Reading
Alexander, Derek (ed.) (1996) Prehistoric Renfrewshire. Papers in honour of Frank Newall. Renfrewshire Local History Forum, Edinburgh
Bluck, B.J. (ed.) (1973) Excursion Guide to the Geology of the Glasgow District. Geological Society of Glasgow
Moisley, H.A. and A.G. Thain (eds.) (1975) The County of Renfrew, The Third Statistical Account of Scotland. vol. XI
Robertson, George and George Crawford (1818) A General Description of the Shire of Renfrew. Paisley
Stevenson, Jack (1995) Exploring Scotland's Heritage: Glasgow, Clydeside and Stirling. Second Edition, The Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland and HMSO, Edinburgh
Walker, Frank Arneil (1986) South Clyde Estuary: An Illustrated Architectural Guide to Inverclyde and Renfrew. Scottish Academic Press and the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland, Edinburgh

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

Related Entries

There are 344 related entries.

(18 Attractions, 5 Council Areas, 3 Historical Counties, 175 Features, 3 Parishes, 3 People and 137 Settlements)

Names that are not linked do not currently contain any information.

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better