South Lanarkshire

Dalveen Pass
©2022 Gazetteer for Scotland

Dalveen Pass

A unitary authority in central Scotland bordering Dumfries and Galloway, East Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow, North Lanarkshire, the Scottish Borders and West Lothian, South Lanarkshire stretches from the Lowther Hills in the Southern Uplands northwards towards Carluke, Larkhall, East Kilbride, Rutherglen, Cambuslang, Blantyre, Bothwell and Hamilton (the administrative centre) on the southern outskirts of Glasgow. It is bisected from south to north by the M74 motorway which links the north of England to Glasgow. Beyond the urban settlements of Greater Glasgow it is a largely rural area with a handful of market towns including Strathaven, Lanark and Biggar. The 11th largest of Scotland's council areas, it has a total area of 1777 sq. km (686 sq. miles), over 70 per cent being upland pasture and moorland. It is the fifth largest in terms of population, but 80% of the population live in just 20% of the area. There is significant deprivation in parts of Rutherglen. Tourism is concentrated on the picturesque valley of the upper Clyde and places of interest include the former home of the missionary-explorer David Livingstone (1813-73) in Blantyre, Calder Glen Country Park, Chatelherault Country Park and New Lanark, the world heritage site which has associations with the industrial philanthropist Robert Owen (1771 - 1858).

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better