North Walls

(North Waas)

One of three divisions of the island of Hoy in Orkney, North Walls occupies the larger part of the south of the island, to the south of the Knap of Trowieglen, including the settlements of Lyness, Rinnigil, North Ness, Saltness and Melsetter but excluding the peninsula in the extreme southeast which is South Walls. The name is more correctly 'North Waas' or 'North Voes' and came about because the island of Hoy was once divided into the parishes of Hoy & Graemsay and Walls & Flotta, with Walls comprising two obvious physiographic divisions. The islands of Flotta and Fara lie to the east.

North Walls Community School and North Walls Centre are located in Lyness.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better