Valley of Strathmore

(Strathmore, Vale of Strathmore, The Great Glen)

Strathmore (The Great Glen) forms a wide valley between the southern Grampians and the Sidlaw Hills, extending from Perth in the southwest to Stonehaven in the northeast and including the districts in the northeast known as the Mearns and the Howe of Angus. Its principal rivers are the Tay, Isla, Dean Water, North Esk and South Esk and its chief settlements include Perth, Coupar Angus, Blairgowrie, Forfar, Brechin, Kirriemuir, Alyth, Laurencekirk and Stonehaven. In some contexts Strathmore is described as extending as far southwest as Dunbartonshire, following the Highland Boundary Fault and effectively designating the southeastern frontier of that area of the Highlands bounded in the northwest by another, better known, Great Glen. Glamis Castle is the seat of the Earls of Strathmore.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better