Galloway Bullock
©2022 Gazetteer for Scotland

Galloway Bullock

An area of SW Scotland now forming part of Dumfries and Galloway, Galloway until 1974 comprised the former counties of Wigtownshire and Kirkcudbrightshire stretching northwards from the Solway Firth into the Galloway Hills and including the 'hammerhead' shaped Rhins of Galloway. Its much forested uplands are a source of hydro-electric power and its lowlands are noted for farming, in particular dairy produce and cattle. Its principal towns are Castle Douglas, Wigtown and Kirkcudbright, known respectively as the 'Food Town', 'Book Town' and 'Artists' Town', together with Stranraer, Newton Stewart, New Galloway and Gatehouse of Fleet.

Galloway formed an ancient kingdom with influences from Northumbrians, Gaelic-speaking Scots-Irish and Norse, with the Lordship of Galloway recorded from the 11th century. The Earldom of Galloway was created in 1623 for Alexander Stewart.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better