A mountainous district which gave its name to the former estate of the Earls and Marquises of Breadalbane, extending from the NW of modern Perthshire, across Stirling and Argyll & Bute. The name Breadalbane derives from the Gaelic 'BrĂ ghaid Albainn', meaning the high country of Scotland. The estate grew to become one of the largest in Scotland, extending to 177,000 ha (437,696 acres) at its height and stretching from Loch Tay to the west coast at Easdale. This estate was built up during the 19th century and administered from Taymouth Castle at Kenmore, with subsidiary seats including Achmore House and Ardmaddy Castle, and shooting lodges at Suie (Crianlarich), Forest Lodge and Glenfalloch. However it was split up and sold off in the years following the First World War.

The district encompasses communities such as Aberfeldy, Balquhidder, Crianlarich, Killin, Lochearnhead, Logierait and Tyndrum, together with Glen Rannoch, Glen Lyon, Glen Dochart and Upper Strathtay and part of Loch Ericht.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better