Parish of Contin

Contin is a parish, which lies in Highland Council Area, some 18 miles (29 km) west of Dingwall and 19 miles (31 km) northwest of Beauly in Highland.

It is located in the old county of Ross and Cromarty, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 826.6 sq. km (319.1 sq. miles). Contin has 6 neighbouring parishes; namely Fodderty, Gairloch, Kincardine, Lochbroom, Lochcarron and Urray. The boundaries of this parish were modified among significant changes recommended by the Boundary Commissioners after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better