Parish of Rothes

Rothes is a parish, which lies in Moray Council Area, some 8 miles (13 km) southeast of Elgin and 8 miles (13 km) northwest of Dufftown in Moray.

It is located in the old county of Moray, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 81.6 sq. km (31.5 sq. miles). Rothes has 9 neighbouring parishes; namely Aberlour, Bellie, Birnie, Boharm, Dallas, Elgin, Knockando, Speymouth and St Andrews-Lhanbryd. The boundaries of this parish were modified among significant changes recommended by the Boundary Commissioners after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better