Parish of Kirkliston

Kirkliston is a parish, which lies in the City of Edinburgh Council Area, some 5 miles (8 km) northeast of Livingston in West Lothian and 9 miles (14 km) south of Dunfermline in Fife.

It is split between the old counties of Midlothian and West Lothian, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 32.8 sq. km (12.6 sq. miles). Kirkliston has 7 neighbouring parishes; namely Abercorn, Dalmeny, Ecclesmachan, Edinburgh, Kirknewton, Ratho and Uphall. The boundaries of this parish were modified among significant changes recommended by the Boundary Commissioners after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better