Parish of Logiealmond

A historical perspective, drawn from the Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland: A Survey of Scottish Topography, Statistical, Biographical and Historical, edited by Francis H. Groome and originally published in parts by Thomas C. Jack, Grange Publishing Works, Edinburgh between 1882 and 1885.

This edition is copyright © The Editors of the Gazetteer for Scotland, 2002-2022.

It has taken much time and money to make the six-volumes of Groome's text freely accessible. Please help us continue and develop by making a donation. If only one out of every ten people who view this page gave £5 or $10, the project would be self-sustaining. Sadly less than one in thirty-thousand contribute, so please give what you can.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry Arrow

Logiealmond, a district in Monzie parish, central Perthshire, and a quoad sacra parish, partly also in Fowlis Wester, Methven, and Redgorton. The district lies on the N bank of the river Almond 6 miles NW of Methven station; and in 1702 was annexed quoad sacra to Moneydie. It contains the meeting point of the three ancient dioceses of Dunblane, Dunkeld, and St Andrews and according to tradition 'was a place of conference' for the bishops of those three sees. (See Monzie.) The quoad sacra parish, constituted about 1852, is in the presbytery of Perth and the synod of Perth and Stirling; its minister's stipend is £120. An ancient church at Chapelhill, which had been in a ruinous state for upwards of a century, was refitted for public worship in 1834, and contains 285 sittings. There are also a Free church and a U.P. church (1811 ; 450 sittings); and a public school, with accommodation for 73 children, had (1882) an average attendance of 56, and a grant of £55, 13s. Pop. (1871) 646, (1881) 581, of whom 117 were in Fowlis Wester, 62 in Methven, 372 in Monzie and 30 in Redgorton. —Ord. Sur., sh. 47, 1869.

An accompanying 19th C. Ordnance Survey map is available, or use the map tab to the right of this page.

Note: This text has been made available using a process of scanning and optical character recognition. Despite manual checking, some typographical errors may remain. Please remember this description dates from the 1880s; names may have changed, administrative divisions will certainly be different and there are known to be occasional errors of fact in the original text, which we have not corrected because we wish to maintain its integrity. This information is provided subject to our standard disclaimer

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better