Old County of Kinross-shire

A former county of central Scotland, at 82 sq. miles (212 sq. km) Kinross-shire was once the second smallest (after Clackmannanshire) bounded by Perthshire to the N and W and Fife to the S and E. Its county town was the burgh of Kinross, with Milnathort comprising the other principal settlement. Its most significant feature is Loch Leven. The county also contained the westernmost section of the Lomond Hills and its prominent rivers are the Gairney Water and River Leven. In 1929 a joint administration was established between Kinross-shire and its much larger neighbour Perthshire. In 1974 both were incorporated into Tayside Region as Perth & Kinross District and this became the unitary authority of Perth & Kinross Council Area in 1996.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better