River Oykel

A river which forms the boundary between the Sutherland and Ross & Cromarty districts of Highland Council Area, the River Oykel rises in the southern foothills of Conival and Ben More Assynt and flows in a southeasterly direction, through Loch Ailsh and Glen Oykel, before turning eastward and flowing through Strath Oykel and the villages of Langwell, Brae and Rosehall. It merges with the River Shin at the Kyle of Sutherland, 4 miles (6.5 km) northwest of Bonar Bridge.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better