A former county of central Scotland between Glasgow and Edinburgh, Lanarkshire formed the greater part of the basin of the River Clyde whose sheltered valleys were a centre of fruit growing and whose boundaries contained the greater part of Scotland's population and industry. It was formerly divided into three wards: lower (Glasgow), middle (Hamilton and upper (Lanark). The much smaller district of Lanark in Strathclyde Region was created in 1974 and in 1996 the Council Area of North and South Lanarkshire were established, the two together forming what is termed a 'Supercounty'.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better