Parish of Thurso

Thurso is a coastal parish, which lies in Highland Council Area, some 19 miles (30 km) northwest of Wick in Highland and 28 miles (45 km) south of Stromness in Orkney.

It is located in the old county of Caithness, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 86.7 sq. km (33.4 sq. miles) and includes the settlement of Thurso. Thurso has 4 neighbouring parishes; namely Bower, Halkirk, Olrig and Reay. The boundaries of this parish were modified among significant changes recommended by the Boundary Commissioners after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better